Hellen Mhondo
2 min readApr 4, 2020

--

When Reality Hits You: Learn to Lower Your Expectations

Growing up I expected everything to always work out fine. I just thought if you worked hard then you will always get what you worked hard for, that if you treated people good then they will treat you well. That’s what I believed, that everything was always directly proportional. So I always had expectations, to always get what I worked for. And time flew by, then I grew up and reality hit me, And it struck so hard, and I had no option but to face it.

Mama used to tell me getting along with everyone was a rare skill, and it was a blessing having it. Back then I didn’t really understand her but now I do. Am at an age where I meet a lot of people, people with different backgrounds, people with different attitudes, people with different beliefs and thinking back, mama was right ….it is a skill.

What I learnt is that:

  • Just be you, the world, the people shouldn’t change you. Just do good and don’t expect anything in return.
  • Be good to everyone, help everyone when you can and do it because you want to. But darling once again don’t expect in return. Just because you did something good doesn’t mean the other person has to do the same. We expect the world to work that way but well it doesn’t. So save yourself the trouble, and lower your expectations. You might be good and still get bad treatment in return. That’s how things work on this side.
  • Nobody owes you an explanation for their actions. Swallow that truth pill darling. You have to live with that. They don’t pick up your calls, swallow it, they don’t text you back, swallow it, they don’t check up on you, swallow it, they don’t say thank you, swallow it, they don’t like you back, swallow it, they don’t smile back, swallow it. We are what we are, everyone is living their life.
  • Everyone has a reason for their decisions and everyone has a right to decide what they want, so do you. It is what it is.

--

--